Nancy Nylen Awarded 2019 Scarborough Salomon Flynt Community Service Award

 In Events, News

We are thrilled to announce Nancy Nylen as the recipient of the 2019 Scarborough Salomon Flynt Community Service Award, presented at Town Meeting on May 21, 2019. The award citation, reproduced below, details all of Nancy’s outstanding contributions to the Williamstown community, and iBerkshires posted a great article about Nancy’s accomplishments. Congratulations!




Acting on behalf of the citizens of Williamstown in making this fourth Scarborough Salomon Flynt Community Service Award, the Selection Committee recognizes the integrity, excellence, and dedication of your service to the citizens of Williamstown.

You must have a direct source of renewable energy because yours never seems to run out.

You helped found the COOL Committee and Climate Action Committee, and served on the Green Communities Task Force.

You organized the Williamstown Energy Future Forum and helped our elementary school earn a green designation that brought half a million dollars of state money for the school’s solar array. You helped write the bylaw to enable community solar projects and the stretch code that led to hundreds of thousands of dollars in grants for projects in the community. You helped lead the effort to inventory the town’s carbon emissions, create a plan to reduce them, and launch its implementation.

You led two campaigns to sign up residents in National Grid’s Green Up power option, which led to a solar grant for Milne Library. You led the effort to create a countywide renewal energy collaborative that has helped win state and federal grants for several schools and worked with Williams College to identify local projects to invest in with the goal of reducing carbon emissions.

You managed somehow at the same to serve as co-president of the Mt. Greylock Parent Teacher Organization and as a member of the Conservation Commission and Williamstown Rural Lands Foundation Board.


As remarkable as your achievements have been the way that you have accomplished them— with warmth, humor, and an abundance of cheer, with a sense of collaboration and the ability to bring out the best in everyone around you. For all this, we are delighted to recognize your service to our community.

IN WITNESS THEREOF, the Selection Committee presents to you this award instituted to honor the memory and spirit of community service, which Faith Scarborough, Edith and Adolph Salomon and Hank and Mary Flynt so fully exemplified.

Anne O’Connor              Susan Puddester

Paula Consolini              Justin Crowe

Anne Crider                    J. Adam Filson


May 21, 2019

Recommended Posts
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search